by Sharon Rondeau

(Jul. 19, 2016) — At 6:09 p.m. EDT, Speaker of the House Paul Ryan took to the podium to explain that “Rule 37” requires a roll call vote by state to formally choose the 2016 presidential nominee.

States will be called in alphabetical order.

At 6:11, Ryan asked that order be maintained so that the attendees could hear the results.

Alabama Sen. Jeff Sessions introduced his state as the location of two well-attended Trump rallies earlier this year.  He then said that Alabama delegates were 1 for Marco Rubio, 13 votes for Ted Cruz, and 36 for Donald Trump.

A scorekeeper then repeated the numbers.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.