“NUKE SKELOS”*

by New York State Grassroots Groups

(May 7, 2015) — [Editor’s Note:  The following message for New York State citizens is a result of the arrest on Monday morning of New York State Senate Leader Dean Skelos, who, like former New York State Speaker of the House Sheldon Silver, has been under investigation by U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York Preet Bharara.

Last July, State Sen. Tom Libous was arrested for allegedly lying to the FBI, and Silver was charged with accepting kickbacks in January.  Silver gave up his speakership, although he remains a member of the General Assembly.  Skelos has not stepped down as Senate leader.

Following Silver’s arrest, Bharara revealed that more arrests were likely as he penetrated the “three men in a room” arrangement by which legislation in New York State is allegedly passed.  Skelos and Silver were two of the three, representing the New York Senate and House, respectively, with Gov. Andrew Cuomo allegedly the third, accordingly to Bharara.  Cuomo has not been charged with a crime.]

From New York State Grassroots Groups:

YOUR team spent the day in Albany yesterday and watched the slime slither. The cowards and heroes skirmished to the point where the whole legislature was forced to shut down. The cowards won yesterday – the hereoes MUST win tomorrow. WE must ROAR – use OUR voice – Skelos MUST go – NUKE SKELOS must be OUR message.

PLEASE email the message below to every NY Senator (email list below). Send it many times and then consider creating your own ways to do even more. Ask everyone you know to participate. Be a believer – OUR efforts ARE more effective than anyone imagines. OUR success may not be immediate, but WE get the job done……… eventually.

Suggested letter to New York State Legislators:

Subject box [NUKE SKELOS]
Dear Lawmaker,
NUKE Skelos – An Arrested man CANT be allowed to lead the people’s business. Elect John DeFrancisco as Senate Leader.
 
I am a member of the NYS Grassroots Coalition made up of hundreds of thousands of New Yorkers from every district in OUR state. WE are dedicated to one thing and one thing only – JUSTICE – removing LAWLESSNESS in NYS. WE are Independents, Democrats and Republicans combined.
Make NO mistake – WE Will NOT Quit – WE Will NOT go away – AND …WE get stronger every day.
Respect is not an entitlement – Respect is earned.
(copy and paste the email addresses – all in one or – best to send 10 at a time)
NY Senate Email       [ PS – see message from Carl Paladino below email list]
Dear Friend and Ally:
I am writing you today with a very important mission: If you stand with me against Albany corruption, I need you to contact your New York State Senator today. Right now.  Don’t delay.
As you know, on Monday State Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos was arrested on some ironclad charges of corruption. This isn’t a surprise to me or you; we’ve been predicting this for a long time. We all know Skelos has been a major part of the problem in Albany for many years. He is such a corrupt RINO (Republican In Name Only) that he even worked to defeat Republican gubernatorial candidate Rob Astorino last year.
For Skelos, the most powerful Republican in NYS government, self-empowerment is everything. He’s so addicted to power that he  refuses to give up his Senate leadership position – even after he was arrested! It’s disgusting.
Insiders tell me that New York State Senator Cathy Young and most of her Republican colleagues from Long Island and elsewhere are blocking a Senate majority leadership change, keeping Skelos on top even after his corruption arrest.
So what’s up with Young, the ‘Long Island Nine’ and other Senators in the Republican conference who are dead set against a new leader?  Are they afraid Skelos might roll over on them and chirp to the Feds about issues where they have been complicit in criminality? Or are they just good old boys and girls who have been in office too long and have forgotten the promises they made to their constituents to clean up the Albany cesspool?
It’s true that a man is not guilty until proven so.  But, if a man working at a day care is arrested for molesting a child, and he is still on the job the next day, aren’t you going to be upset when you go to drop your kid off?  It’s about public trust; cover up and the hideous recognition that the people we elected to represent us are not up to the job.
The lack of comment from NY GOP Chairman Ed Cox clearly exposes his prior complicity with Skelos and the other RINOs during last year’s election where I had previously demanded that he and Astorino define and call out the RINOs before the election cycle.  Later, after most Republican legislators abandoned and lent no campaign support to the party, it was evident that the RINOs and Cox were complicit with Astorino in running a half-hearted campaign designed to keep the power in downstate and have Astorino run again in 2018.
Even though Young and the Long Island Nine are dead set against a new leader, it can still be done. There’s another way to dump Dean: They’re calling it the Nuclear Option.
Today – as you read this message – Republican Senators committed to reform are moving quietly in alliance with Democrats to get rid of Skelos. Seven upstate Republicans can ally with the 25 mainline Democrats and vote Skelos out. Then the GOP, Democrat and the Impendent Democratic Caucus (IDC) caucuses can nominate candidates and vote for a new leader. All we need is seven Republicans to settle on a new leader – and Young and the Islanders will have to fall in line.
But we need your help. Please call, email and tweet your New York State Senator, Republican or Democrat, listed below with a simple message: “Dump Dean Skelos: Support the nuclear option.” When you call, give them your address or zip code so they know they’re hearing from a voter in their district. They know exactly what the Nuclear Option is, and they need to know you want them to find the courage to work across party lines for real reform.
They might be inspired by your endorsement of clean government and new leadership.
So to Hell with Senator Cathy Young and the ‘Long Island Nine’. Dump Dean Skelos now – with the Nuclear Option.
Sincerely,
Carl Paladino
PS: If your Senator is not listed below, that means they are part of the problem. In that case, contact the others. Contact all of them. Like me, you’ve been praying for an end to Albany corruption. Well, now you can do something about it. And don’t forget to use the Twitter hashtag #NukeDean!
New York State SenateAddabbo, Joseph P., Jr
District 15
(718) 738-1111
addabbo@senate.state.ny.usAmedore, George
District 46
845-331-3810
Amedore@nysenate.gov
@GeorgeAmedoreAvella, Tony
District 11
718-357-3094
avella@nysenate.gov
@TonyAvellaBonacic, John J.
District 42
Phone:  (845) 344-3311
bonacic@nysenate.gov
@JohnBonacicBreslin, Neil D.
District 44
(518) 455-2225
breslin@nysenate.gov

Carlucci, David
District 38
845-623-3627
carlucci@nysenate.gov

Comrie, Leroy
District 14
718-454-0162
Comrie@nysenate.gov
@SenatorComrie

DeFrancisco, John A.
District 50
(315) 428-7632
jdefranc@nysenate.gov
@JohnDeFrancisco

Diaz, Ruben
District 32
(718) 991-3161
diaz@nysenate.gov

Dilan, Martin Malavé
District 18
(718) 573-1726
dilan@nysenate.gov
@SenatorDilan

Espaillat, Adriano
District 31
(212) 544-0173
espailla@nysenate.gov

Farley, Hugh T.
District 49
(518) 885-1829
Farley@nysenate.gov

Felder, Simcha
District 17
(718) 253-2015
felder@nysenate.gov
@NYSenatorFelder

Funke, Rich
District 55
(585) 223-1800
Funke@nysenate.gov

Gallivan, Patrick M.
District 59
716-656-8544
gallivan@nysenate.gov
@senatorgallivan

Gianaris, Michael
District 12
718-728-0960
gianaris@nysenate.gov

Golden, Martin J.
District 22
(718) 238-6044
golden@nysenate.gov
@SenMartyGolden

Griffo, Joseph A.
District 47
(315) 793-9072
griffo@nysenate.gov
@SenGriffo

Hamilton, Jesse
District 20
718-284-4700
Hamilton@nysenate.gov

Hassell-Thompson, Ruth
District 36
(718) 547-8854
hassellt@senate.state.ny.us

Hoylman, Brad
District 27
(212) 633-8052
hoylman@nysenate.gov

Kennedy, Timothy
District 63
716-826-2683
kennedy@nysenate.gov
@SenKennedy

Klein, Jeffrey D.
District 34
(718) 822-2049
jdklein@senate.state.ny.u
@JeffKleinNY

Krueger, Liz
District 28
(212) 490-9535
lkrueger@senate.state.ny.us

Lanza, Andrew J
District 24
(718) 984-4073
lanza@senate.state.ny.us
@senatorlanza

Larkin, William J., Jr.
District 39
(845) 567-1270
larkin@senate.state.ny.us
@SenatorLarkin

Latimer, George S.
District 37
(914) 934-5250
latimer@nysenate.gov
@GeorgeLatimer37

Libous, Tom
District 52
(607) 773-8771
senator@senatorlibous.com

Little, Elizabeth
District 45
(518) 743-0968
little@nysenate.gov

Marchione, Kathleen A.
District 43
518 371-2751
marchione@nysenate.gov

Montgomery, Velmanette
District 25
(718) 643-6140
montgome@nysenate.gov

Murphy, Terrence P.
District 40
914-962-2624
murphy@nysenate.gov

Nozzolio, Michael F.
District 54
(518) 455-2366
nozzolio@nysenate.gov
@senatornozzolio

O’Mara, Thomas F.
District 58
607-735-9671
omara@nysenate.gov
@SenatorOMara

Ortt, Robert
District 62
716-434-0680
Ortt@nysenate.gov
@SenatorOrtt

Panepinto, Marc
District 60
(716) 854-8705
Panepinto@nysenate.gov
@SenPanepinto

Parker, Kevin S.
District 21
(718) 629-6401
parker@senate.state.ny.us
@SenatorParker

Peralta, Jose
District 13
(718) 205-3881
jperalta@nysenate.gov
@SenatorPeralta

Perkins, Bill
District 30
212-222-7315
perkins@senate.state.ny.us

Ranzenhofer, Michael H.
District 61
(716) 631-8695
ranz@senate.state.ny.us

Ritchie, Patty
District 48
315-782-3418
ritchie@nysenate.gov
@SenatorRitchie

Rivera, Gustavo
District 33
718-933-2034
grivera@nysenate.gov
@NYSenatorRivera

Robach, Joseph E.
District 56
(585) 225-3650
robach@nysenate.gov
@SenatorRobach

Sanders, James
District 10
718-523-3069
sanders@nysenate.gov

Savino, Diane J.
District 23
(718) 727-9406
savino@senate.state.ny.us

Serino, Susan
District 41
845-229-0106
Serino@nysenate.gov

Serrano, Jose M.
District 29
(212)-828-5829
serrano@senate.state.ny.us
@SenatorSerrano

Seward, James L.
District 51
(607) 432-5524
seward@nysenate.gov

Squadron, Daniel L
District 26
212-298-5565
squadron@nysenate.gov
@DanielSquadron

Stavisky, Toby Ann
District 16
(718) 445-0004
stavisky@nysenate.gov
@tobystavisky

Stewart-Cousins, Andrea
District 35
(914) 423-4031
scousins@senate.state.ny.us

Valesky, David J.
District 53
(315)-478-8745
valesky@nysenate.gov
@SenDaveValesky

————————

*The term “nuke” as used in this article does not depict any form of physical harm to New York State Senate Leader Dean Skelos, but rather, a removal from office following the corruption charges he now faces

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.